Reviews



A wonderful stay! - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay at Dawn and Gary's place, in The Studio (self-catering). The house and the studio are beautiful, comfortable and ideally situated. Thanks for everything, Dawn and Gary. We hope to see you again one day. Kind regards, Manon and Patrice

Reviewer:Manon L | Fri 25th May 2018 | 4 weeks ago


Arden House. - Rating 5/5

A very warm welcome.Easy access to restaurants and shops.Lovely home cooking.Very nicely furnished rooms.Quiet and peaceful atmosphere.Forest walks from the back of the house.Easy access to local attractions.Such as Loch Katrine steam ship trip and Queen Elizabeth park. Stirling castle.Very personal and friendly couple.

Reviewer:Daphne & Gordon D | Sat 30th Sep 2017 | 8 months ago


5 star luxury in Callander - Rating 5/5

Our second visit to this delightful bed and breakfast. A warm welcome with tea and cake, a wonderfully comfortable bedroom with every possible facility available, dinner booked for us at a lovely local restaurant, and an excellent breakfast to follow. Thank you Dawn and Garry for a great stay. We hope to return.

Reviewer:w | Mon 25th Sep 2017 | 9 months ago


A beautiful house with very friendly hosts. - Rating 5/5

We had a very warm welcom with tea and cake. The hosts are very friendly people. They recommended us a very good restaurant in town and made the reservation for us. The Arden House is a beautiful house with lovely charming rooms. The breakfast is delicious.

Reviewer:Mrs. Maria C | Thu 31st Aug 2017 | 9 months ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

We very much enjoyed our stay at Arden House! Gary and Dawn are extremely hospitable. They are also very knowledgeable about the area and gave great recommendations for things to do, places to eat, etc. The house and grounds are well kept and beautiful. The location is great too -- just up the hill from the village of Callandar and within easy driving distance to many locations in the Trossachs and beyond.

Reviewer:Adrian W | Sat 26th Aug 2017 | 10 months ago


Studio Four day stay in July 2017 - Rating 4/5

The studio is in a lovely location with views of woodland and a lovely garden. It is comfortable for two, clean and with all the facilities you need for a relaxing holiday. Dawn and Gary are very helpful and friendly. We even had some good weather for our days out to Loch Katrine and Loch Lomand. The walk to the nearby waterfall is worth the effort.

Reviewer:Mr. Roger Newham| Mon 31st Jul 2017 | 10 months ago


Excellent Lodgings - Rating 5/5

My golf partner and I stayed at Arden House to be close to Callander Golf Club.Gary and Dawn are excellent hosts and couldn't be more helpful.The room was clean, fresh and well appointed. The breakfast was in keeping with this well run B&B, first class!If you want to stay close to the Golf Club this is the place to be, literally 2 minutes walk to the GC.Gary was kind enough to charge our golf trolley batteries, great service.I have stayed in a few B&B's in Scotland and I can honestly say this is one of the best yet.P.S. if your of an age to remember Dr Findlay's Casebook TV series your in for a treat. This is the fictional home of the well known Dr Findlay and Dr Cruikshank, not forgetting Janet the housekeeper.

Reviewer:John B | Thu 27th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Perfect in every way! - Rating 5/5

Great location, beautifulhome and the bnb services were perfect in every way.

Reviewer:Larry P | Thu 27th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Just brilliant - Rating 5/5

We travel a great deal and rate this as one of our best stays anywhere. Beautiful location, immaculately clean, great breakfast and most of all professional and friendly hosts. The view from our room was lovely, looking out over the beautifully tended garden. The hosts recommended two different restaraunts for dinner, gave us a wealth of local places to see - all excellent. We would go out of our way to stay here again.

Reviewer:Mr. Paul H | Wed 5th Jul 2017 | 11 months ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

We have had an excellent stay. The owners have meaning of hospitality.They offer you every day delicious cakes. Thank you for everything.

Reviewer:p | Thu 29th Jun 2017 | 11 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We have had an excellent stay. The owners have meaning of hospitality.They offer you every day delicious cakes. Thank you for everything.

Reviewer:p | Thu 29th Jun 2017 | 11 months ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

I can highly recommend the Arden House to anybody. Beautiful rooms, delicious home-made breakfast and kind hosts.

Response

Dear Yuvia & Stefan,thank you so much for your kind words.Hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Scotland and got home safely.It would be lovely to welcome you back to Arden House on your next trip to Scotland.We have updated our Facebook page with your comments, @ardenhousecallander.Kind regards,Dawn & Gary

Reviewer:Mr. Stefan van der V | Sun 11th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Best B&B ever - Rating 5/5

Dawn is an incredible sweet and effective host. She made sure we had a good range of recommendations for food and avtivities. The room was fantastic and well prepared for two persons. The facilities are superb. Dawn offered tea and coffee on arrival and a marvelous cake, just wonderfull. Dawn makes an incredible scottish breakfast. The tastes and quality are superb, we have no tasted the equivalent ast couple of days in Scotland.When travelling to Scotland we would most certainly return to Callander, just because of Dawn and her B&B.

Reviewer:Mr. Johan V | Mon 3rd Oct 2016 | 1 year ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, quiet, private and well appointed.

Reviewer:Ms. Bonnie C | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


An unforgettable stay at Arden House - Rating 5/5

The stay at Arden House at the beginning of our holiday in Scotland was just perfect. The causy room, the rich and homemade breakfast, the beautiful garden and the very friendly and helpful owners (Dawn + Gary) made our stay unforgettable! Thank you very much

Reviewer:Mr. Norbert S | Sun 25th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Wonderful to be back- Rating 5/5

it is always wonderful to be back at Arden House. The Studio is a great place to chill out away from the hustle and bustle. you receive such a wonderful welcome from Dawn whose baking is superb. The Studio is immaculate and has all you need for a pleasant and comfortable stay. Dawn is always willing to go the extra mile for her guests. Highly recommended by my wife and myself.

Reviewer:Mr. Samuel Alexander S | Sat 17th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Most enjoyable experience - Rating 5/5

We have been travelling for 15 days in Scotland and this was our best B&B experience! Dawn's elegant and very comfortable rooms, the delicious breakfasts, and last but not least her attentionate care and good tips for our program made this an unforgettable experience!

Reviewer:Mr. Cyril T | Sat 10th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful stay.Room, food and hospitality were high standard!

Reviewer:Mr. DaniëlD | Mon 5th Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Fantastic stay with amazing hospitality - Rating 5/5

We had a great time at Arden House! The owners are very friendly and helpful with everything. The room was spacious and very clean, the bed is fantastic! The breakfast is delicious!We enjoyed our time very much and hope we can be back soon! Thanks so much!

Reviewer:Ms. Hedwig W | Thu 1st Sep 2016 | 1 year ago


Arden House, Callander - Rating 5/5

Highly recommended ! Traditional Scottish hospitality and a warm welcome. A lovely old house of character but with modern day comforts. Excellent standards of cleanliness and food. Private parking and relaxing setting. Most enjoyable.

Reviewer:Ms. MoragG | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 1 year ago


Review - Rating 5/5

Had an amazing stay at Arden House - completely spoilt duringour 2 day stay - just wish we could have stayed longer! Room was wonderful and food Michelin class!!!We would love to stay again - thank you both so much!Really felt "at home"😄

Reviewer:Mrs. Doreen Mc G | Sun 31st Jul 2016 | 1 year ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Quiet and beautiful surroundings. Warm welcome, superb rooms.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan S | Wed 20th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Self Catering Cottage - Rating 5/5

We have just returned from a weekend stay at Arden House in the cottage at the rear of the property. The cottage is lovely, comfortable and well equipped with everything you need. We received a warm welcome from Dawn &Gary and especially enjoyed the cake &home made jam. A short walk into town which we enjoyed.We will hopefully return soon, wished we could have stayed longer.

Reviewer:Mr. Thomas M | Mon 18th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Arden House - Rating 5/5

our three night stay at the Arden House was very pleasant.We stayed in the studio which was very clean, neat and had all the amenities we were looking for.Fully stocked kitchen with dishes, etc.Bathroom was clean and had a great shower.The Pringles were very sweet and helpful.We felt at home here and very comfortable.

Reviewer:Mr. Ray P | Fri 15th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Excellant - Rating 5/5

Excelant well run home. Made to feel her welcome. Could not do enough for us. Will definately visit again.

Reviewer:Mrs. Roberta C | Fri 15th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


a very good stay - Rating 5/5

We spend a very fine stay in this studio very clean and well decorated. The hosts are very nice. The house is near from the center of the town, the forest and golf. All was OK. Thank you

Reviewer:Mrs. Willer D | Wed 6th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


Très bonne adresse - Rating 5/5

Studio très bien équipé et très confortable

Reviewer:Mrs. Brege C | Mon 4th Aug 2014 | 3 years ago


lovely hosts, great location! - Rating 5/5

Me and my friend had a great stay at Arden house. Dawn, Greg and their son, made an great effort to help us and did everything they could to make our stay wonderful... They even gave us an extra shot of whisky in our breakfast porridge :) lovely couple, great location! Suitable for people of all ages. Cheers! Hilde, age 29

Reviewer:Miss. Hilde R | Tue 29th Jul 2014 | 3 years ago


Put Callandar on your calender - Rating 5/5

Don't miss the lovely offerings of Arden House.Dawn gathered us in after a long day of "driving on the Left!!!!"and made us instantly welcome and secure!Situated in a perfectly tucked awayyet accessible location, surrounder by forest, gardens and even a little putting green, Dawn, the quintessential example of Scottish charm and hospitality, offered delicious breakfasts, elegantly presented along with all the information we needed to hike around the area and then continue on our way "driving on the LEFT...the LEFT!!!!

Reviewer:Mr. James D | Sat 31st May 2014 | 4 years ago


Just What The Doctor Ordered - Rating 5/5

This was our first visit to Scotland and we made Arden House our starting base for 2 nights. Initially we were drawn to this house for nostalgic reasons as the 'Dr Finlay's Casebook' series had coincided with the early days of our married life (the black and white telly period). At Arden House, Dawn and Garry in their respective roles as hosts, offer the very best in B&B, our only regret is we did not book for a longer stay here.Meanwhile its back to the exercise bike in order to shed some of those extra pounds of Scottish extravaganza for which I hold Dawn and her cookery skills chiefly responsible. Exhibit 1 your honour, Dawn's chocolate cake. Exquisite. The Arden House Scottish Breakfast - I have run out of superlatives, the Jury should try for themselves,(sorry maximum is 12 members).A unaminous 'Yes' vote for this B&B from us.

Reviewer:Mr. Cyril W | Wed 28th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Studio Flat- Rating 4/5

Very comfortable and well looked after by Dawn and Gary and family who were very friendly, helpful and hospitable.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew M | Tue 27th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Ideal place to stay - Rating 5/5

From the moment we arrived to a welcoming cup of tea and cake,until we left 2 days later, Dawn and Gary were the perfect hosts. Their lovely victorian house was the original Arden House in the tv programme Dr Finlay's Casebook which was filmed in the Callander area. Breakfast was excellent and our roomwas clean and comfortable with lovely views. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and only wish we could have stayed longer.

Reviewer:Mr. David R | Mon 19th May 2014 | 4 years ago


An exceptional stay - Rating 5/5

It would be difficult to recommend Arden House too highly. It's beautifully situated, well away from the noise and bustle of Stirling Road. Visitors receive a gracious welcome and a cup of tea from Dawn, who knows exactly how to balance care and attention with unobtrusiveness. Our room, named after Dr Finlay, was spacious and very comfortable and we slept well (not always the case with my husband, who is a light sleeper). Breakfast was magnificent (I loved Dawn's scrambled egg with smoked salmon) and again served in the calm, relaxed atmosphere characteristic of Arden House. Lots of information was available, both in the room and in the sitting room set aside for the use of visitors. In short, we had a wonderful stay -- and hope to be back soon!

Reviewer:Ms. Susan R | Sun 4th May 2014 | 4 years ago


excellent - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Mathijs S | Mon 14th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago